It is that time… New Year’s Resolutions

Every year we humans take the time to create our new year’s resolutions for the next year, 2010 in this case. Tired of coming up with the same ideas (or none), I decided to consult the world via the internet to find out what other people are setting as their New Year’s resolutions. I actually have compiled 3 lists (Most popular, Most broken and Most funny). And here is the inspiration I have gotten:

Most popular:

Health
o Fit in fitness
o Go on a diet
o Tame the bulge or loose weight
o Quit smoking (which I can already take of my list as I do not smoke)
o Quit drinking

Financial
o Get out or even better do not get into debt
o Make big money
o Save money

Make the world a better place
o Help others
o Donate to the poor
o Become ecologically responsible
o Get your voice in the media

Personal development
o Assess Life/work balance
o Spend more time with friends and family
o Learn something new
o Get organized
o Get a job (like I am doing nothing now…)
o Travel
o Spend less time online (twitter, facebook, linkedin, etc.)

Fuzzy Category
o Enjoy life more – not very explicit but that makes it easy, right.
o Be happy (kind a rules out some things…)

Most broken resolutions:
• Stop Smoking
• Get into shape/go to the gym
• Go on a diet
• Learn a new skill
• Give up alcohol
• Give up facebook/twitter updating
• Balacing Work/Life Balance
• Save money

So by process of elimination, my New Year’s resolutions should be in order of importance and limited to 5 as more do not make sense:
1. Make big money
2. Travel around the world
3. Help others and give to the poor
4. Get my voice in the media
5. Enjoy life and be happy

And yes, I promised you the list of funny resolutions, here it is:
– Stop constantly updating your facebook/twitter/LinkedIn status update
– Stop playing the different ringtones on your phone
– Stop talking on the phone when in any line waiting for something
– Stop blasting bad breath into the direction of the people I am talking to
– Stop watching weight loss videos sitting on the coach eating potato chips
– Remove the mailbox thus eliminating junk mail eliminating clutter
– Stop buying books till I read the 25 others that are waiting to be read
– Start a garden since I do so well in Farmville!
– Stop wasting money to win the McDonald annual monopoly game

– Just for today, I will not sit in my living room all day in my PJ’s. Instead, I will move my computer into the bedroom.

– I will not bore my boss by with the same excuse for taking leaves. I will think of some more excuses.

– I will do less laundry and use more deodorant. And I will avoid taking a bath whenever possible and conserve more water.

– I will give up chocolates totally. 100%. Completely. Honestly….

– I will try to figure out why I *really* need nine e-mail addresses.

– I will stop sending e-mail, ICQ, Instant Messages and be on the phone at the same time with the same person.

– I will spend less than one hour a day on the Internet. This, of course, will be hard to estimate since I’m not a clock watcher.

– I will read the manual… just as soon as I can find it.

– I will think of a password other than “password.”

– I won’t worry so much.

– I will cut my hair.

– I will grow my hair.

– I will stop considering other people’s feelings when they so obviously don’t consider mine – if that unwashed fellow sits next to me again, I’ll tell him he stinks!

– I will be more imaginative.

– More to come…

I hope you can find some inspiration in these lists of what your resolutions are for 2010.

Have a great end of 2009 and a fabulous 2010 (I will, since I will be making big buck travel the world and give to the poor while getting my face in the media and enjoying life!)

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment