6 Social Media things to do before breakfast

When you get involved in social media, you quickly learn that it requires regularity and discipline.  Creating a daily routine is of course one of the best ways to approach this.  Over time I have together a 30-minute routine.

Source: www.socialbel.com

Here are the things I do before breakfast:

  1. Email
    1. Delete uninteresting/unwanted emails.
    2. Mark emails to be treated during the workday.
    3. Answer urgent emails.
    4. Check emails from LinkedIn groups for good content and mark for later reading.
    5. Review Google Alerts and mark interesting items with GetPocket.
  2. Social media monitoring
    1. Review social media monitoring dashboard and react appropriately.
    2. Go to Hootsuite and review monitoring columns and react appropriately.
  3. LinkedIn
    1. People Who viewed your profile is a perfect opportunity to start a conversation or even get connected (selectively).
    2. Contacts show people that have a New job, Birthday or Work Anniversary.  This again is a great opportunity to start a conversation.
    3. Review LinkedIn Inbox for messages and connection requests.
  4. Twitter
    1. Check tweets that mention me and act appropriately
    2. Check new followers out
    3. Check who unfollowed me and decide on course of action (recapture or accept)
    4. Quickly review the recent Tweet stream
  5. Facebook & Google+
    1. Check personal and company timelines for posts from friends and fans
    2. Wish friends a Happy Birthday
    3. Check messages and take action if needed
  6. Content sharing
    1. Share my quote of the day or content from others across a number of platforms
    2. Contribute and share content through my Tumblr blog on Social Media tools

Having created this routine, I am able to start my day informed, organized and inspired.   Since I have created this morning, I have also developed a similar approach for the evening routine.  The evening routine focuses more on content generation but I will discuss this in another blog post.

Do you have a similar routine? Why not share it through the comments below.  Or do you want details about any of the steps mentioned in my routine, send me a mail (mic@vanguard-leadership.be)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “6 Social Media things to do before breakfast”

  1. Wannes De Loore (@wannesdeloore) Says:

    I don’t have this kind of routine, but I prefer to work out before breakfast. Afterwards, I start the social media routine. I think this kind of routine should only take 30minutes, right?

  2. recruitment Says:

    Excellent web page. A lot of handy facts in this article. I am sending this to a number of close friends ans additionally expressing throughout delectable. And definitely, many thanks on the work!

  3. #BufferChat : Facebook marketing – Links | Demonstrates wp-kneaver possibilities Says:

    […] https://micvadam.wordpress.com/2014/01/25/6-social-media-things-to-do-before-breakfast/ […]

  4. Bruno Winck Says:

    Interestingly I quit this routine years ago. Ok it all depends on the time zone you are in but in Europe I think the benefit is very marginal because our US friends are anyway sleeping and most Europeans not yet at their desk.

    Considering that in European time zone I end up working very late almost to the last moment the major drawback for me was to end up being all day up, all time connected. This cause risks of burnout, reduced of creativity,.lack of distance, reduced my ability to take things with humour and generosity.Also I felt stressed by what could have happened wrong during night (servers, build, partners).

    Now I take the time to be fully ready, some yoga (better before breakfast), enjoy a long breakfast with just the radio then only turn on my computer. Not even the last cup of coffee while reading news as I did in the past. Then I start and I don’t start wih my mail. It will be like 15 minutes later.

    Sometimes I indulge back to the old routine and I can tell the difference.

    9:00 PM Sprouchat starting ..

  5. tanyalau Says:

    The good Bruno Winck pointed me to this post …and I find his response fascinating. I too have been struggling over the last year or so to implement a regular routine for things like social media and blogging. I take a very scatter gun and undiscplined approach and need to change it! Like you I often check and respond to social media stuff in the morning…but similarly, like Bruno, I am contemplating stopping this. I have a 4 yr old who now models this behaviour and reaches for the tablet as soon as he gets up! Then, of course has a tantrum when I try to take it away. Aside from modelling behaviour I don’t necessarily want to encourage, I do think checking and responding – for me – first thing in the morning makes me somewhat distracted. I like the idea of Bruno’s easing slowly into the morning and getting mentally prepared. I used to do a bit of meditation in the morning and think I will start re-implementing that regime. Anyway – I think the core message here is that you need to find a routine that works FOR YOU…then stick to it.

  6. Ben jij klaar voor de Social Selling Tsunami? | VLCM Says:

    […] – 6 things I do before breakfast (Mic Adam) […]

  7. wsi Says:

    Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve keep in mind your stuff prior
    to and you are simply extremely fantastic. I
    really like what you have acquired here, really
    like what you’re stating and the best way wherein you assert it.
    You are making it enjoyable and you continue to take care
    of to keep it wise. I can’t wait to read much more from you.
    That is actually a tremendous website.

Leave a comment